When I saw the headlines for this story, I thought it was an article from the Daily Mash or the Onion. But apparently not. Kids are now smoking bath salts to get high. Amongst the descriptions of 3-day binges, hallucinations and self-harm is this tidbit:

In northern Mississippi’s Itawamba County, Sheriff Chris Dickinson said his office has handled about 30 encounters with bath-salts users in the past two months alone. He said the problem grew last year in his rural area after a Mississippi law began restricting the sale of pseudoephedrine, a key ingredient in making methamphetamine.

I remember when I used to hear about new drugs from friends, long before I’d read the scare stories in the news.  I’m getting old.

Officials fear bath salts becoming the next big drug menace– The Washington Post

